30 Apr 2016

Basic Member Management for Drupal Sites

Submitted by Drupal Boss

As the owner of a Drupal website, you have the opportunity to take advantage of the efforts of others by allowing people to become members capable of contributing content, helping to administer your site, or performing other tasks. This might not be something you need to do if your site is a small operation that is fairly manageable by one or two people. But if your site gets a lot of activity that you are having trouble keeping track of, recruiting members who can help might be a smart move.

Member management in Drupal is made possible through the 'People' section of the dashboard. From this section you can add new members, assign roles, change usernames and passwords, and even delete problem members. Let us take a look at the functionality of this feature for website owners.

Adding New Members

Navigating to the 'People' section of your administrative dashboard presents you with a simple dialogue box with two tabs and multiple options under each one. If you are your site's only member, you should see your information listed and nothing else. Just click 'Add user' to create a new user account for someone else in your organization.

You will then have to decide on that person's:

  • Role – this designates what kinds of tasks the new member will perform
  • Permissions – permissions determine what sections of your site the member will have access to
  • Status – this determines whether the account is active or blocked.

From the 'Roles' drop down menu, you will be able to choose from among the following three: administrator, authenticated user, and temp. Administrators will be able to do just about anything on your site; the other two roles will have access as determined by the permissions you set.

Under the 'Permissions' tab, you will then have to modify the information to account for your new user. This information includes:

  • username
  • e-mail address
  • password
  • status.

Note that you will have to type in the new member's password twice. This is necessary in order to confirm that the original password you entered is that which you intended. Confirming passwords is a common method of making sure users do not make mistakes when creating them.

The last option to worry about is the status of the new account. You can make it active or blocked, depending on your needs. Blocking is a tool you might use should one of your members do something inappropriate. Blocking may be preferred as a means of rectifying a situation rather than deleting the member's account.